t9Nav Does Not Work Well in Nokia E71

06Agu08

As my Nokia E71 is an Asian Firmware edition, it does not have the smart contacts search that other E71 firmware’s have (how disappointing!). And so I go wondering around the web again and then found an application that brought a new hope for a temporary substitution for the shortcomings of my Asian E71. I read a review about t9Nav Beta where this application lets you quick search any contents in your phone right from the home screen including: contacts-media files-bookmarks-applications-calendar entries:

t9nav-3t9nav-4t9nav-5

I had high expectations for this application, because it seemed like an acceptable temporary application at least until there is an update for the Asian Firmware for smart search function that I’m missing.

But then this is what happened when I tried it on my Nokia E71:

t9nav-6t9nav-7t9nav-8

From the home menu I tried typing “opera”, but there was no result in finding my mini opera application. I also tried to find a name in my contacts but it wasn’t able to find any matching results. The reviews i’ve read in other blogs seems to have no trouble in enjoying the t9nav but most of them used other than a Nokia E71. I guess I’m still going to have to wait for the firmware update..

Cheers



5 Responses to “t9Nav Does Not Work Well in Nokia E71”

  1. 1 Jana

    I entirely agree to this. It is not working well with E71. Maybe it is not configured for qwerty keyboards.

  2. 2 aussietroll

    i didn’t know E71s sold in Indonesia didn’t have this feature, as mine does (bought in sydney). iirc, we’re suppose to be using the same device, E71-1, as it is the asia/europe version (while E71-2 is for the americas). what a shame. seriously, this small feature is a godsend for symbian devices. hope you get that sw update soon!

  3. Hi,

    I have the same problem with my european version. I use the first 100. firmware and thought about to update. Maybe will this fix it.
    But I will not do it. I´m happy with all features and I read about many problems after the update to the new 200. firmware. Backups not working, apps not working. Also there´s no new feature that I will have or an error that needs to be fixed (never had slowdowns etc).

    So what firmware do you use?
    Anyone tried with the latest?

    I think, that T9nav is the better application (better than Squakikey…squequikey…damn name!)…

  4. Hello!

    I’m the product manager for T9 Nav, and I just thought I would let you know that T9 Nav does not support QWERTY devices including the E71. We’re adding it in the future, but it is going to be quite a while before we’ll have a version to release.

    Donni

  5. 5 chromax

    Got an answer from nuance about that problem:

    Hi Daniel,

    We don’t actually support QWERTY devices yet, so that’s why things didn’t work out well for the E71 user in the beta. We are not selling T9 Nav to QWERTY users.

    Thanks for your email,
    -Donni


Tinggalkan Balasan

